Great Books To Share!

There have been many great books I’ve used in my research over the years. Some of them are classics which can only be obtained second-hand, but most are available in paperback.

I never loan my books to anyone, because they usually have notations in the margins which are irreplacable. Even if I re-read the book, my head would not be in the same place it was when I read it the first time. That’s the strange and magical thing about books – no two people ever read the same book, because they both interpret the content differently, bringing their own life experiences, personal preferences and subconscious thought into the process.

Anyway, many of the books I’ve read are real gems. If I had to pick two books about text, though, I’d pick “Finer Points in the Spacing and Arrangement of Type” by Geoffrey Dowding – an 85-page “ocean in a teapot”, and of course Robert Bringhurst’s “The Elements of Typographic Style”, which everyone whose judgement I respect treats on a par with the Bible…

I love to get a list of recommended books, or someone’s reading list, or to find a new author whose work I like – a new seam to be mined.

So I’ve included a list of books I recommend on this blog, with links to take you straight to Amazon, where you can buy them. The star ratings are Amazon’s, by the way. If I can find the time, I’ll add some comments of my own.

How did we ever manage before Amazon?

I read a lot of books. This is just a first selection. I plan to add a lot more…

Leave a Reply

